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You are here: Home / Archives for SEO strategy

SEO strategy

Dec 22 2020

7 Tactics To Improve Your Pay Per Click Marketing Strategy

If you’ve been paying attention to the profit Google has been turning over the years, you may have noticed a trend: They keep making more money. A large portion of the total revenue Google earns is from paid ads. Why not follow suit and make more money by incorporating better tactics to improve your pay per click marketing strategy?

Even though they can be much more expensive than organic traffic generation, businesses continue to invest in paid ads for one simple fact: They make money.

Whether you’re already running PPC campaigns, or you’re considering your first go at it, here are 7 tactics to improve your pay per click marketing strategy to increase the revenue you’re generating from each campaign.

Bid on your brand and the name of popular competing brands

If you break down the intent of a brand search, it’s highly transactional. When someone is searching for a specific brand, they already have a product in mind and are in the buying frame of mind. Bidding on popular brands can put your website in front of a large group of searchers with buyer intent.

The larger brands have caught on to this pay per click marketing strategy and will protect the hijacking of their brand by bidding on their brand name. Search for any large corporate brand and you’ll see their Google Ad taking up the first spot in the search result.

Example of Apple bidding on their own brand name, which is one of many pay per click strategies

Although this tactic is one of many pay per click strategies that are somewhat well known among the larger brands you can still find loads of opportunities where popular SMBs have failed to capitalize on this knowledge.

Bid on popular competing brands to capitalize on an audience with buyer intent. Don’t forget to bid on your brand and protect the name of your company from being used as a way your competition makes money.

Put 80% of your effort into the headline

The 80/20 rules apply here where your headline counts as the most important part of your advertisement. People are going to click on the headline that captures their attention with the most enticing and relevant message. Use headline tips and strategies to ensure your ad receives a high click-through rate to maximize its potential.

Here are a few to get you started:

Use a number in your headline

The use of a number can attract more attention and interest in your content. People like to know what they’re getting and the use of a number manages expectations-which appeals to most people.

Using an odd number on your headline is one of the pay per click strategies

Using an odd number can increase your CTR by up to 20%

Spark emotion within your headline

There have been thousands of tests and studies on the effectiveness of ads and the bottom line to remember is that if your ad can evoke emotion it becomes much more powerful.

Here is a list of the top emotions that seem to have a positive effect on the way people respond to ads:

Top 10 emotions to incorporate in your pay per click marketing strategy to get the best response from users

The most successful ads that go viral seem to be those that target humour and are amusing to people. They get shared and spark interest. 

Snickers, launched their campaign “You’re not you when you’re hungry” and targeted misspelled words. In just two days they reported over 550k impressions with a CTR of just over 1%. The result was over 5000 people landing on their mini-website in just 48 hours.

Snickers pay per click marketing strategy was to optimize for misspelled words

The type of emotion you evoke depends on the niche that you’re trying to promote. If you’re advertising for a funeral home, there’s going to be a big difference in your tone than if you were promoting a kid’s event space.

Knowing your audience is a crucial aspect in determining the emotion of your target. Keep in mind that people respond with much more energy when you’ve triggered an emotional response.

Dynamic keyword insertion

Google, Yahoo and Microsoft offer this advanced feature to allow your ads more flexibility by inserting related keywords depending on the search.

Dynamic keyword insertion is a PPC marketing strategy

For example, if you sell tennis equipment, you may have an advertisement for tennis racquets. You can initialize dynamic keyword insertion by inserting the code:

{KeyWord: Tennis Racquets}

This will then tell the search engine to insert the most appropriate keywords in your ad according to what the user is searching. 

If a user searches “kids tennis racquets” or “adult tennis racquets” or “club level tennis racquets” those keywords will be inserted into your ad to make it more relevant to the searcher.

If there are no relatable substitutes, your ad will be displayed with your primary keyword, which in this case would be tennis racquets.

Dynamic insertion contributes to higher click-through rates by creating more relevance to the user’s search.

Use retargeting pixels

Retargeting is one of the best ways to reduce your cost per click because of its success in increasing conversions. This tactic is highly effective in promoting a higher conversion rate because your ad will reappear in front of users that have shown interest by clicking on your ad and landing on your website.

Image of retargeting model. This has been an effective pay per click marketing tactic to increase conversions
Image source

The retail industry, on average, requires 6-8 touchpoints before making a sale. When you have an ad following a user for an additional 8-12 times it gives your brand more exposure and more opportunities to remind the user about your product or service.

How does it work?

You need to install a pixel on your website that you receive from your ad campaign. Whenever a user lands on your site, a cookie is uploaded into their browser. That cookie reactivates the ad within the display network for however many times you choose to set it for in your campaign.

Use a landing page to personalize your campaign

Always use a landing page to personalize your PPC campaign to increase conversions and address a specific need that your ad is promoting.

Many businesses make the mistake of sending a user to their homepage from an ad and leave it to the visitor to find what they need. Rather than take the risk they don’t find what they need, send them directly to the page that has exactly what they need.

Custom bridal gown search displays an ad for wedding dresses

Always eliminate clicks and unnecessary obstacles that get in the way of a visitor finding what they want and purchasing it. Navigation to your product should already be done for the user so there’s nothing left to chance.

The landing page for a wedding dress ad was one of the wedding dress serice pages

A landing page gives you a way to warm your visitor up with information about your product and guide them to a purchase decision.

Provide social proof in your copy

We live in a time where reviews count for a huge part of the decision making process for many different industries. People will read the reviews on Yelp before picking a new place to eat dinner. There’s value in having social evidence of the value your business represents. 

Nations Photo Lab uses a review in their ad as social proof-another effective pay per click marketing strategy

Include social proof in your copy to promote more clicks to your site. People will be more inclined to trust a company that can show how many clients they’ve already helped solve problems with their product. 

Having 5-star reviews with customers raving about how good your food is will bring in more eager customers who want to see what other people are talking about. 

Use Google’s Smart Bidding system

You can automate your bidding strategy by using Google’s Smart Bidding system to increase conversions, ROAS and reduce CPA. The system is a combination of AI and machine learning that is effective at predicting trends and tendencies of users to increase the likelihood of making a conversion.

Smart bidding strategies breakdown

Use Smart bidding to get the best times to bid, the amount to bid and other areas that are automated based on machine learning. Automating the way you run your PPC campaigns with Smart Bidding leads to conversion rate optimization as well as reducing the cost per acquisition over time.

Image showing the bid signals available using smart bidding and to users.

Google suggests running a Smart Bidding strategy for at least 30 conversions or one month to get the full benefits of machine learning applied to your campaign.

Incorporate PPC Strategies to Increase Conversions

There are many pros and cons to using a PPC campaign within your digital marketing strategy, but the bottom line is that they make money. There’s no substitute for getting your brand at the top of the page for important keywords.

If you compare organic traffic generation to pay per click campaigns, organic has more potential with less cost in the long run. However, using a combination of both can make your digital marketing campaign even more profitable.

Incorporate proven tactics to improve your pay per click marketing strategy to increase conversions, lower costs and boost your revenue for every campaign you run.

Want to hear more about how we can help your business generate more revenue? Give us a call and let us give you a breakdown of the opportunities available to your website.

Christian Carere
Christian Carere

Christian Carere is the owner and founder of Digital Ducats Inc. in Toronto and heads the SEO team at Austin Bryant Consulting in Plano, TX.  Christian has been published on publications such as Search Engine Watch, Venngage, Small Biz Daily, Grasshopper, Data Box, Socialnomics, and Mention.

old.digitalducats.com/

Written by Christian Carere · Categorized: Pay Per Click, SEO strategy, Web development

Dec 21 2020

6 Tips To Increase Conversion Rates On Your Website

It’s one thing to get visitors to your site but what’s the point of driving traffic if the visitors don’t end up buying a product or subscribing to your mailing list? The goal of driving high volumes of traffic to your website is to increase the revenue your website generates. This article will give you a few tips on how to increase conversion rates, which leads to new clients, subscribers and ultimately more sales.

What are conversion rates?

An Analytics report showing the goal conversion rate

A conversion rate is the percentage of visitors that perform a desired action on your website. The action can be whatever you decide is the ultimate goal for your traffic. For instance, if you were selling products a conversion would be when a visitor purchases one of your products.

If 1000 visitors visit your website and 50 visitors make a purchase, your conversion rate is 5%.

50/1000=0.05

Conversions don’t necessarily need to be a purchase. You could also set up conversion goals of acquiring contact information. 

If a visitor subscribes to your mailing list this can also be considered a conversion.

An example of an opt-in sign up popover

If your website is set up for AdSense, a conversion would be for a visitor to click on one of the ads on your pages. This would be the most desirable result when you’re getting paid for every click someone makes on advertisement on your website.

IMage of multiple adsense images that result in the publisher being paid for every click.

You can set up multiple conversion goals for your visitors as well as track the results using Google Analytics. 

The page for setting up goal conversions on Google Analytics

Once you have your conversion goals in place, you can see where your pages succeed in guiding visitors to making the most conversions. 

Use the following tips to increase conversions rates on your website. 

Use an effective call to action

Never assume that your visitors know exactly what to do on your website. Make it very clear for users what the next steps are to move forward in making a conversion.

For example, if you’re in the service industry let them know how they can get personalized help using your services by clicking the button to call your business at the end of every article.

Example of how WebFx tells its readers to place a call to learn more about how they can help to increase conversion rates

Gently urge your users to complete the desired action. If you want people to like or share your article on social media, you need to ask them to do so at the end in a clear and polite way.

Hubspot uses a call to action asking to share on social media after their articles

If you want your visitors to sign up for your email list, there needs to be a call to action to guide them into doing so. If the only text your opt-in box has is  “Name” and “email address” why would anyone enter their information? 

Opt in form that entices users to fill enter info and increase conversion rates

There has to be a message that urges visitors to fill out your form. Using an effective call to action is an absolute necessity to increase conversion rates on your website.

Internal linking strategy

The internal linking strategy implemented on your website can directly affect your conversion rate. Internal links are a great way to guide visitors through related content within your site. Not only can you get more content in front of your audience, but you can guide them to the pages that convert at the highest rate.

You should already be tracking the conversion rates of your pages on Google Analytics or your analytic tracking software of your choice.

Identify the pages that are converting at the highest rates. You can do this by going to behaviour, Site content, All pages.

Filter the pages to list the page value starting at the largest amount to the lowest.

Make it a priority to link to these pages whenever possible. Guide users to these pages by using editorial links to hint at the pages they may be interested in.

You can also give users the option at the end of an article to visit the pages that they would also be interested in reading.

Example of how Search Engine Journal suggests related articles after every one of their articles

The more opportunities you give visitors to get to the pages that convert at high rates, the higher you’ll increase conversion rates will be from your total volume of traffic.

Page load time

The time it takes your pages to load has a direct impact on your bounce rate. It’s been proven that visitors will back off of your page at an alarmingly high rate when your page speed begins to exceed 3 seconds of load time.

By increasing your page speed, you can retain a large percentage of the visitors that land on your website. The lower your bounce rate, the more visitors will have a chance to go through your content.

Chart showing how increasing page speed has a positive correlation to increase conversion rates

This ultimately leads to increase conversion rates when a larger percentage of your total volume of traffic is actually getting to the pages you want them to see. Reducing the number of people you lose to slow load time increases the conversion rates.

Email reminders for abandoned carts

Did you know you can increase your conversion rate by up to 69% by sending up to 3 email reminders to those who have abandoned their carts?!

Imagine, a user finds your site, they read your content, they research options and they choose your product, and are filling out the purchase information and they suddenly get called to work or dinner or their kid pukes all over their office. 

These are users who have already decided to purchase your product but life just got in the way for whatever reason. 

Email reminders are the best way to keep your company in mind and get them back to your site to finish checking out. This strategy is definitely one to incorporate in your email marketing.

Example of abandoned cart email reminder to increase conversion rates

Send email reminders on a set schedule for anyone who leaves a cart abandoned to get them back on track to finishing the check out process.

Make things happen ASAP (as simple as possible)

In order to increase conversions make the process as easy as possible by eliminating the number of things a user must do to complete a conversion. Reducing the number of obstacles that stand in the way of completing a goal will increase conversions to your site.

Leadpages found that by making a single field for an email address rather than a field for name plus email address, increased conversions by 12.44%. The concept is simple enough to understand; People are less likely to fill out long forms than they are to fill out short ones.

Example of a single entry form increases the conversion rate of the opt-in box

The less effort it is for someone to give you their contact info, the easier it is to entice them to fill out the form.

Amazon realized this and had massive success with their one-click ordering system. When you can order a product with minimal steps, there are more people that will make it through the conversion process.

Image of Amazon's option for buy now with 1-click

Although it may be easier for companies to have a user’s information on file for repeat orders and even a history of products purchased, the option to purchase as a guest will increase the number of conversions made by new clients.

Allowing users to avoid a lengthy account set up before buying a product speeds the process up which means less chances of interrupting the conversion process.

Make your conversion process as simple as possible to see more goals completed on-site.

Use split testing to identify preferences

It’s hard to know exactly what the majority of your users prefer without split testing the options you have available. Simple things on your site such as colours, headlines and placement of features can increase conversion rates on your website.

Leadpages found that when they changed the colour of their button from orange to green that conversion rates went up 86.41%.

Split test shows that changing the colour of a button can increase conversion rates to over 80%

Split testing can uncover certain patterns or tendencies of your users that result in more desired actions on your website.

Use split tests for everything you can get your hands on. Test headlines for your landing pages to see whether the users that end up clicking are more likely to convert.

Test the placement of buttons, the background colour of optin forms, the images on optim forms the text that you use as a call to action. Literally everything that can be interchangeable in design has the potential of increasing your conversion rates.

Improve conversion rates for increased revenue

Increase the revenue your website generates by improving the way it influences users to perform your desired action.

In an increasingly competitive search environment, improving conversion rates is an effective way to continually improve the efficiency of your website. Increasing your conversion rates are a way to make more money from your website without the wait time for content to rank for a keyword.

Follow these tips for better conversion rates from your website for increased revenue from new clients.

Don’t have time to do it yourself? Click here to speak with an SEO consultant to learn more about how we generate more revenue for our clients.

Christian Carere
Christian Carere

Christian Carere is the owner and founder of Digital Ducats Inc. in Toronto and heads the SEO team at Austin Bryant Consulting in Plano, TX.  Christian has been published on publications such as Search Engine Watch, Venngage, Small Biz Daily, Grasshopper, Data Box, Socialnomics, and Mention.

old.digitalducats.com/

Written by Christian Carere · Categorized: SEO strategy, Web development

Dec 09 2020

The Difference Between SEO and Content Marketing

There are a number of different strategies within the digital marketing spectrum. Most of which are their own unique and distinct entities that can easily be differentiated between one another. SEO and content marketing are unique in that sense.

A PPC campaign is different from a website design. Social media marketing is completely different from email marketing. When it comes to SEO and content marketing, however, the lines are more blurred because they work together pefectly.

The overlap between SEO and content marketing
Image source: Lyfe Marketing

People get confused about the two strategies since quite a large part of each strategy overlaps with the other. This article should straighten out any misconceptions you may have about the two and give you a better understanding of how they are used together to maximize results.

What is SEO?

Search engine optimization services incorporate a variety of tactics to improve the likelihood of content being found by users and search engines. SEO uses keyword research, keyword targeting, keyword mapping, on-page optimization, off-page optimization, content creation and technical SEO elements to improve the overall optimization of a page or piece of content.

SEO has a narrow focus

SEO has a more specific focus because it is primarily keyword-based. It’s true; search engines have evolved from ranking web pages solely by keywords, however, keyword targeting is necessary to make sure your page gets in front of the right audience. The result is that an optimized page will not only rank for one keyword, but a series of keyword variations as well.

Search engine optimization is an analytical process for not only identifying the audience, but for finding out what they type to search for topics and what is required to appear at the top of the search results.

SEO is technical

SEO involves incremental changes and additions that continuously move your page closer to the top of the searches. SEO goes beyond the content to improve on technical aspects of performance that search engines credit as positive ranking signals.

Technical issues that affect indexing are a major component to SEO. Improving page speed is also a factor that affects the ranking and engagement statistics of a web page. Maintaining longer dwell times, higher click-through rates and increasing the average number of pages per session are all calculated efforts to improve the quality of content on a website.

benefits of SEO
Image source

So how does this tie in to content marketing? First let’s define what content marketing means to a business.

What is content marketing?

Content marketing means identifying an audience and creating content to educate and/or entertain based on their interests. Content is typically created for a broader audience that appeals to all stages of the buyer journey.

Content marketing can be for social media, increasing conversions on a website or creating awareness by appearing on popular websites. Content marketing can come in the form of research, storytelling, articles, images, videos, slide shows and literally any form of multimedia.

benefits of content marketing
Image source

What’s the difference between SEO and content marketing?

The difference between SEO and content marketing lies in the scope of which each has in terms of an audience. SEO has a narrower focus that is keyword based. SEO focuses on the intent of the audience and identifies the technical requirements to reach that audience.

Content marketing has a broad focus that can apply to an audience with multiple intents. There are no technical requirements to create the content necessary to serve its purpose.

How content marketing and SEO overlap

Combining SEO and content marketing is where we see powerful results. 

First of all, SEO can’t exist without content. 

SEO optimizes content to be found by a specific group of searchers. Without any content to optimize, there is no SEO.

Content marketing becomes a powerful method of marketing when it’s optimized to appear in front of a specific audience. By identifying what people are looking for in searches, you can create content that satisfies their intent.

Good content brings brand recognition, brand loyalty and more confidence in making a purchase from your company. 

By identifying the major keywords being used to search for your products and the problems and solutions related to using your product or service you can reach a specific group that is more likely to convert from visitors to new clients.

SEO establishes the parameters for what content is needed to generate more traffic to your website. Content marketing supplies those requirements.

Create content that’s in high demand

At the end of the day, you want to create content that people are actively looking for on Google. The process that’s proven to be the most effective for driving targeted traffic is simple:

  • Establish the true intent of keywords that represent high business value.
  • Create content that satisfies the intent of the search.
  • Optimize content to appear for your keyword topic.
  • Improve ranking and increase traffic to your pages by building links and promoting on social media and other content distribution channels.

This four-step process works to create new streams of high converting traffic. This system requires targeted SEO content writing with consistent production to create long-lasting results in the search engines. The result is increased revenue from more traffic and new clients.

Speak to a professional today and learn how to drive traffic with an SEO content strategy custom-fit to your website. For more details visit our SEO services page.

Christian Carere
Christian Carere

Christian Carere is the owner and founder of Digital Ducats Inc. in Toronto and heads the SEO team at Austin Bryant Consulting in Plano, TX.  Christian has been published on publications such as Search Engine Watch, Venngage, Small Biz Daily, Grasshopper, Data Box, Socialnomics, and Mention.

old.digitalducats.com/

Written by Christian Carere · Categorized: Content strategy, SEO strategy, Web development

Dec 08 2020

5 SEO Tactics To Use During Quarantine

With the world going crazy with COVID-19 there have been many restrictions that have affected the way we live dramatically. Many businesses have been hit hard, while some are thriving because they’re positioned correctly for online sales and/or sell popular products people are buying curbside. No matter what industry your business competes in, here are five SEO tactics to implement during this economic quarantine.

Sharpen up your local SEO strategy

Whether you’re a small business or not, local SEO is a pretty big factor for increasing revenue during the quarantine. Many people are working remotely from home and are more inclined to be looking for solutions that are closer to them.

State any changes in policy & daily operations

Update your Google My Business profile to reflect any new policies you might have on how your business is running. There’s a section specifically for COVID-19 updates you can find within your dashboard under posts.

SEO tactic number one is to keep your GMB updates with your response to COVID-19

Many people are concerned about their safety and the safety of their families. Publish a message that directly addresses what your business is doing to ensure the safety of your customers is being taken seriously.

Update your hours

It sounds simple, but many businesses forget to keep their hours updated to reflect the changes they’ve made since COVID-19 became a serious threat. There’s nothing more frustrating than showing up to a business that said it was open online but is closed when you get there.

It’s bad branding for your business to have inaccurate information posted online. It’s fairly simple to change from your dashboard, so make sure you’ve taken the time to let people know what hours you’re operating.

Show professionalism by keeping your hours perfectly up to date on GMB. Another one of the SEO tactics to use

Make use of the Q & A section

Are people asking many of the same questions about your business? You don’t need to wait for someone to post a question on your profile, you can take the initiative and do it yourself.

Use the Q & A features on your GMB profile ot answer commonly asked questions to encourage engagement-an SEO strategy

After you ask the question you can write the response directly following which will appear on the knowledge card whenever your business is searched on Google.

Make use of this feature to make more information more accessible as well as promote user engagement. When people see questions being answered it encourages them to ask questions as well. 

Although it’s not a major ranking factor, it’s still a positive signal that search engines take into account.

Target new streams of website visitors

When things are slow it’s the perfect time to target new keywords. You may need to completely revamp the way you attract new clients, or perhaps you can just add another stream of traffic to your monthly search volume.

After the first wave of COVID-19 many businesses in the service industry had to quickly rethink their strategy. In-person meetings were no longer an option, which meant finding a way to continue online.

Gyms, for example, began offering online fitness classes in order to maintain a percentage of their clients.

Virtual fitness classes offered in Toronto

Coaches and tutors have been forced to shift to online classes as well.

ONline singing lessons are now a necessary option for music coaches

The movement is now shifting to a virtual environment. Make sure your keyword strategy reflects the shift in demand. Whether it’s online services or contactless delivery, your website needs to be optimized to reflect the changes that have become essential for survival.

Publish more content, more frequently

There are more people searching for Google during the pandemic than ever before. People have more time on their hands plus they’re being forced to find online solutions to minimize the risk of being exposed to COVID-19.

Publish more content to support the depth of your keyword topics. More information that you can provide on your products, services and the topics that surround them, the more expertise your website builds in your niche.

Plan your content topically

If you haven’t already, break down your main keyword topic into smaller subtopics. Make sure these subtopics are something that people would want to read or are solutions to commonly asked questions.

Provide detailed solutions to demonstrate more ability to answer any question a user may have on a keyword related topic.

Topic cluster example of building content around main keyword theme is one of the major SEO tactics

The more content your build around important keyword topics the more your website can be considered an expert resource in your niche.

This builds authority and ranking ability around the major core topic from which your business benefits the most.

Form clustered content

The subtopics that are related to each other should be interlinked as much as possible. An internal link from one article to another allows users to navigate through your content and learn more about the topic they’re interested in.

Pillar page model one of the top SEO content strategies and site structures

When each article within the clustered content links to the core topic, it forms a pillar page for your main keyword theme. A large number of internal links highlight the importance of the keyword theme to your site and raises the ranking ability of every page within your topic cluster.

Publish for the freshness factor

Google loves fresh content. When there’s new content being published on your site you create positive ranking signals.

In a time when people are online now more than ever, create as much content around your main keyword themes as possible to give people more reason to visit your website.

Address technical website errors

Improve the functionality of your website piece by piece by tackling some of the technical errors that inevitably crop up throughout its lifetime. Even if you’re not super tech-savvy you can still get rid of some of the major errors like broken links or even work on improving page speed.

Start by checking Google Search Console for errors that are appearing on your pages by clicking on the Core Web Vitals tab.

Search console Core web vitals display

Anything that needs attention will be reported in more detail by clicking “open report” and then clicking on the detail line with the type of error.

Search console mobile error report

If you’re error-free, go over to page speed insights and enter your URL.

page speed maintenance is an seo tactic that reduces bounce rate

Page speed is a constant maintenance issue so you’ll need to check periodically how your pages are doing with load time (major page speed issues will be reported in the search console).

The faster your page loads, the more visitors you keep on your website and it’s not a one and done type of deal. Constant vigilance needs to be maintained in order for your pages to get under the recommended speed of two seconds.

Work on compressing images on your site before you upload them to your content. If your page is slow on specific pages that have images, consider replacing the images for smaller, compressed versions. 

Google squoosh homepage

Use Google’s free online tool called Squoosh to compress images to sizes up to 99% smaller than the original.

Resizing and compression options for Google Squoosh app

This tool also resizes images to your specifications which is perfect for reducing server response time if your images are not scaled to fit in the space you need them for.

Guest author on a popular website

Promote your company and get more people to your website by applying to be a guest author on a popular website. There are dozens of high traffic blogs in your niche guaranteed to help you improve the traffic you receive on our website.

As a guest author, you’re able to brand your business and generate more awareness of your company. Your article should be an example of the expertise you have in your field and inspire interested readers to click through to your website.

Use the triple P process for guest posting: prospect, pitch & publish. There are important aspects you need to be aware of within each of these steps in order to make the most of being a guest author.

Prospect

Guest posting sites can easily be found with a quick Google search. You can type in “[your keyword] guest posting websites” to get pages with lists of candidates.

You need to find websites with a minimum authority of 30 DA to qualify as decent prospects to publish content. Higher domain authority will have a greater impact on improving the domain authority of your website.

You can use the Mozbar extension for your browser to filter out websites that are lower than 30 DA.

Guest posting site option from Google search using the Mozbar to filter low DA sites

Make sure you’re going to be able to link to your content within the body of the article. If they only allow nofollow links then make sure the website gets enough traffic to be worth it. 

Enter the URL on SEMRush to see the keywords that drive organic traffic for the website.

Confirm organic traffic on prospective guest posting sites before writing for them

You can find details on the writing requirements by reading the Contributor Guidelines. Be sure to read this before writing your article to avoid any surprises in what’s required, allowed and disallowed. 

Many websites are different so it’s important to read this for every website you’re writing an article for. This will save you time from making a mistake or writing an article for nothing because it gets rejected for not following the guidelines.

Contributor guidelines example to make sure the websites matches the goal your aiming for in your SEO strategy

Pitch

When you approach a website with a pitch you want to do all of the following:

  • Introduce yourself
  • Pitch a catchy title idea for an article
  • Provide a short outline
  • Supply a few links to other content you’ve published
  • List a few additional title options

Publish

When you publish your article on another website make sure it’s at the level of quality where you can say you’re putting your best foot forward. You’re representing your company and brand so make your content the highest quality possible.

Link to relevant content on your site where it makes sense. Send readers to content assets on your site that will engage visitors and encourage them to click-through to more pages on your site.

SEO strategies take time

Stay consistent with your efforts. Remember that SEO is a strategy that’s most effective in the long run. Follow these five SEO tactics for some quick wins and long term gains.

Most content you publish today doesn’t provide a return for a few months. It takes time to be indexed and gain momentum with ranking and traffic. With more and more people staying indoors, take advantage of the additional search volume.

Capitalize on the opportunities here and strengthen your online presence in a time when it counts the most. For more information read about Toronto SEO services that enhance your online presence.

Christian Carere
Christian Carere

Christian Carere is the owner and founder of Digital Ducats Inc. in Toronto and heads the SEO team at Austin Bryant Consulting in Plano, TX.  Christian has been published on publications such as Search Engine Watch, Venngage, Small Biz Daily, Grasshopper, Data Box, Socialnomics, and Mention.

old.digitalducats.com/

Written by Christian Carere · Categorized: SEO strategy

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